Ria’s Bluebird

IMG_1432-w800

It is blustery. It is cold. It is Thursday. Tasks drip from the to-do list like the icicles forming on the front porch gutter. Toes are numb, legs are shivering, and sweaters, blankets and hot tea are not doing the trick.

You think about pressing through, doing some work — feet to the fire, nose to the grindstone, all that good stuff. And then you decide that if those snotty public school teachers get to take a snow day, by jingo so should you.

Well, there was no snow in Atlanta this past Thursday; the teachers were steadfastly chalking equations onto their blackboards, and truth be told, it was not even that cold outside.

But I took the morning off anyway.

Ria’s Bluebird is regarded as one of the finest diners in America, regularly appearing on top ten lists and greasy spoon television spots. New York Times even named Ria’s pancakes as the best in the nation.

I split an order of the aforementioned flapjacks with my wife — enrobed by warm maple syrup and velvety caramelized banana, and we also divided a platter of zippy huevos rancheros a la Bluebird. Flowing hot coffee warded off the chill in the rainy air, and the buttery pancakes drowned the morning blues in warm, sticky goo.

All to quickly, I was back in the office, noodling around with Photoshop and answering emails. An epic adventure it was not, but an otherwise forgettable morning rose in the ranks to one I will think about for some time.

It was refreshing to experience a slice of the life that goes on while I am busy in my familiar little wheelhouse. The morning off never fails to remind that big-feeling problems are usually small, and often not worth the worry. When was the last time you claimed a morning for yourself? If you can’t remember, it is time to shirk responsibility for a couple of hours, experience something new, and be refreshed.

What are the best morning spots in your neck of the woods? Any tips about favorite menu items?

IMG_1437-w800

IMG_1436-w800

IMG_1435-w800

IMG_1434-w800

IMG_1433-w800

IMG_1431-w800

8 thoughts on “Ria’s Bluebird

  1. I like Amy’s Bread in New York. Actually, I’m addicted to Amy’s Bread. On lazy weekend mornings, I leave my apartment in my sweats, pick up muffins, then go back to bed with my breakfast pastries and coffee to work on my blog.

    • Nice one! Nothing quite like Saturday mornings in sweats — I love that. What’s the address for Amy’s Bread? And any favorites on the menu? I hope to visit NYC sometime in the spring. Thanks for the tip!

      • I go to the one in Hell’s Kitchen at 672 Ninth Avenue (between 46th & 47th Streets). It’s a 5 minute walk from the Port Authority Bus Terminal. There’s a few more locations in New York. If you’re not eating muffins in bed, you can eat at one of their tables or take your muffins over to Times Square, which now has cafe tables. Mornings in Times Square are actually interesting. It’s not too crowded. Shoot me an email at travelbugdiary@gmail.com if you’re ever in New York!

  2. Wow, that is a great tip. I have an uncle that lives about five blocks from there. I will definitely have to check it out next time I am in town. I just assumed that Times Square is overrun all hours of the day — so glad to know that it is not. I think I will have to get some muffins and shoot some a.m. photos. When it comes together, I will link back to your blog in the post. Thanks again for the insider information.

    • Oh wow! That is quite a compliment coming from you Esther. I am always a little intimidated knowing that you are reading the blog because you are so freaking awesome with a camera. Of all the ones here, the condiment still-life was my favorite. I’m glad you liked it too.

Leave a Reply

